skip to content

The Ambulance Victoria Board of Directors develops strategic direction, oversees financial and service performance, and ensures regulatory and government policy requirements and standards are met.

The Board draws upon the collective and considerable expertise of its members in health, clinical governance, community engagement, executive management, finance and auditing, industrial relations, law, and risk management.

The Board represents the diversity of our community with members from culturally diverse backgrounds, from both metropolitan and rural areas and a mix of males and females.


Chair - Mr Ken Lay AO

Ken LayMr Lay is the former Chief Commissioner of Victoria Police where he held many positions since 1974. Mr Lay has extensive networks within all levels of government and the broader community. Until recently he was the Chair of the Prime Minister’s National Ice Taskforce, established by the Federal Government to tackle the issue of use of the drug ice. He was also the the Chair of the Council of Australian Governments Domestic Violence Taskforce. He is currently a Director of Greyhound Racing Victoria , the Essendon Football Club and a Non-Executive Director of Dixon Hospitality Limited.

Board Member Ms Tasneem Chopra

Tasneem ChopraMs Chopra has extensive networks with Australia’s national multicultural communities, from grassroots activists to academia and government. An independent Cross Cultural Consultant, Ms Chopra draws on personal and professional experience in community development, arts and media engagement to advocate for social change and justice, particularly as these issues impact upon the disadvantaged and minorities.

Board Member Ms Susanne Clarke

Suzanne ClarkeMs Clarke has held senior positions in health and community services for over 40 years including community health, local government, state government and the private sector.  Ms Clarke’s experience extends across primary healthcare, philanthropy, governance and community engagement. She joined the Board of Bendigo Health in 2010 and is Chair of Bendigo Health’s Quality Care Council.

Board Member Ms Suzanne Evans

Ms Suzanne EvansMs Evans has a background in finance and economics and has broad management experience in corporate governance, accountancy and in the public service. She has been a past Board member on a number of Health and environmental organisations including Austin Health, Sustainability Victoria, North East Water and Osteopaths Registration Board of Victoria. She is currently on the Board of Bioregional Australia Foundation Ltd and an independent member on the Risk and Audit Committee of the Department of Environment Land Water and Planning.

Board Member Dr Joanna Flynn AM

Dr Joanna FlynnDr Flynn is a general practitioner who has been the Chair of the Board of Directors of Eastern Health since July 2009 and Chair of the Medical Board of Australia since September 2009. In 2015, she was member of the Royal Australasian College of Surgeons’ Expert Advisory Group into Discrimination, Bullying and Sexual Harassment.
She is also Chair of the Council of Health Service Board Chairs, Victoria.

Board Member Mr Ian Forsyth

Mr Ian ForsythMr Forsyth has more than 20 years’ experience in successfully developing and leading teams across complex, high profile and transitioning organisations.  He is a Managing Partner with behaviour change communications specialists, The Shannon Company, and is Chair of the Windermere Child and Family Services.  He began his career as a journalist with the ABC before moving into a range of senior executive positions across the private and public sectors, including Deputy Chief Executive, WorkSafe Victoria, and Managing Director, Norwich Union Life Australia.

Board Member Mr Michael Gorton AM

Michael GortonMr Gorton is a senior partner at Russell Kennedy Lawyers and has more than 25 years’ experience advising the health and medical sector on all aspects of commercial law, assisting boards of health organisations to understand their legal obligations for effective governance structures, governance policies and implementing risk management strategies.
He is on the Board of Melbourne Health, Australasian College for Emergency Medicine, Melbourne Primary Health Network (PHN) and is the Chair of Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency (AHPRA). He also chairs the Health Minister’s Patient Safety Advisory Committee.

Board Member Mr Peter Lewinsky

Mr Peter LewinskySince 1991, Mr Lewinsky has conducted a private investment banking and corporate and government advisory practice.
This follows 10 years investment banking and stockbroking experience both in Australia and internationally.
Over the past 20 years he has been a member and Chair of a number of Boards and governance committees, and advised the Victorian,  and other State governments on a range of governance and audit and risk  sector re-structuring and industry reform issues.

Board Member Mr Greg Smith AM

Mr Greg SmithMr Smith has had extensive experience in conciliation and arbitration, both in Australia and overseas, through his previous roles with the Conciliation and Arbitration Commission, Industrial Relations Commission and Fair Work Commission.
His skills in resolving industrial disputes across a range of industry sectors through conciliation, mediation and arbitration span almost 30 years.